Repeat Winners Dominate East Bay Action

A busy schedule with seven divisions plus the second visit of the Daytona Antique Auto Racing Association gave plenty of on-track action for those who turned out at East Bay Raceway Park for the Saturday action.

The Q Auto & Injury Medical Malpractice Sprints finally got the chance to hit the track after more than four months. Scheduled races were rainout victims, leading to the infrequent appearance, but a good turnout of 12 cars led to some great racing. Robby Hoffmann jumped into the Steve Diamond-owned #9 and claimed the heat race win while Billy Bridges added his first preliminary win of the year. Joe Zuczek grabbed the early lead, but it was Hoffmann who held the hot hand. The 2019 Mini Sprint champion, who had driven a Sprint during the Winternationals, made the best of the situation, adding the 15-lap main event win to his racing resume.

Doug Dyal notched his fourth feature win of the season and William Burnside was tops in the heat in the Q Micro Sprints action.

Point leader Nick Brown added his fifth feature win of the year in the V-8 Warrior class, backing up a heat victory from earlier in the night. Michael Hart scored the other heat for the class.

Tanner Cobb made his first start in the 602 Late Model class count, claiming the win in the heat and 15-lap feature. Cobb, racing a car carrying a “For Sale” sign on the right rear quarter panel, filled in for his father and brought home the wins.

Wayne Kissam led the entire distance to win his third Gladiator main event by staving off competition in the 15-lap feature. Brittany Hart and Kyle Kruse were winners of the six-lap heats.

The Outlaw 4s were added to the program after the class was cancelled at another track. Drivers turned around and headed to East Bay, bringing a field of 9 cars for the division’s action. Defending class champion Stephen Hohlbaugh prevailed in the 15-lap main. Billy Dukes was awarded the heat race win. The win was Hohlbaugh’s third of the season.

Vintage Sptrints and Midgets from the Daytona Antique Auto Racing Association ran 10-lap feature races. Dennis Sanchez claimed the Midget main, which was marred by a Barry Watson flip. Watson was okay, but not able to continue. The Sprint main went to David Kelley.

A busy night is planned for the next action on Saturday, Oct. 16 as the 604 Late Models, Gagel’s Open Wheel Modifieds, Mod Lites, V-8 Warriors, Outlaw 4s, Q Mini Sprints and Florida Old Time Modifieds hit the track. Race time is 6:30.


Feature: Robby Hoffmann (9), Joe Zuczek (50), Frank Beck (89), Billy Bridges (11B), Bryan Eckley (12B), Danny Jones (14), Matt Wedgewood (15W), Jeff Bye (26), Guy Bos (3k), Tim George (1*), Nathan Barouch (13), Chris Hahn (2).


Feature: Doug Dyal (97D), William Burnside (13), Paul Seburn (23), Kaylee Dyal (11D), Neal Evans (24)


Feature: Nick Brown (12), George Handy (105), Michael Hart (99), Collin Kruse (92), Juston Meeks (10), Wayne Kissam (107), Jason Burnside (12J), Danny Bowman (46), Cody Mezyk (40), Gary Lucas (106), Derek Gray (189), Shane Koperda (124)


Feature: Tanner Cobb (03c), Brandon Yates (86), Trent Wilson (64). DNS – Frank Williams (6)


Feature: Wayne Kissam (07), Patrick Tabb (03), Derrick Edwards (17), Charles Paris Jr. (03T), Robert Kissam (911), Tracy Maynard (62), Brittany Hart (99), Ricky Rutledge Jr. (124), Callie Gubich (513), Rodney Martin (21), Daniel Casey (3D), Kyle Kruse (46), Davey Martin (55).


Feature: Stephen Hohlbaugh (23s), Eric Knight (7), Mark Moniz (41E), Randy Johnson (1), Terry Burke (73), Brad Button (25), Rachelle Rudolph (77), Billy Dukes (82), Thomas Braswell Sr. (88)


Midgets – Dennis Sanchez (35), Boyd Vander Syde (9), Wes Hill (V-6), Barry Watson (41)

Sprints – David Kelley (46), Darren Nichols (6), Ted Filides (2J), Josh Rynd (15). DNS – Bob Wolphert (52), Dan Darnell (111)