Nosbisch Doubles Down in Pro Late Models

Racers and fans alike took a break from watching the uncertain path of Hurricane Dorian to get back to the business of dirt track racing at the Clay By The Bay. Since the last completed program was almost three months earlier, many were anxious for the action and were greeted with a five-division program that included Twin 20-lap features for the Pro Late Models.

Keith Nosbisch swept the main events, named in honor of his father, with convincing wins on both counts. Nosbisch won the first race, taking the lead on lap three and building a half track lead before a lap 16 caution bunched up the field. Former East Bay track champion Phillip Cobb would be charged with trying to thwart Nosbisch’s efforts, but the eventual winner picked up where he left off to the head to Victory Lane.

In the second event, Nosbisch had his work cut out for him as early leader Jimmy Waldrop would stave off challenger after challenger. When it became Nosbisch’s turn to make a passing attempt, he swept past Waldrop in the fourth turn to masterfully take the lead on lap 12. From there, it was a repeat of race one as no one could provide a serious challenge to the checkered.

The wins are the fifth and sixth for point leader Nosbisch on the 2019 campaign. Cobb and Nosbisch were the class of the heat races as well.

The night began with the V-8 Warriors who opened the feature races with point leader George Handy coming out on top. It was a sweep for Handy, who claimed the heat before nabbing his third main event of the year.

Brandon Yates padded his point lead with a convincing victory in the 15-lap feature. For Yates, it was his third triumph in four attempts. He also scored the heat race.

Street Stock action saw Mike Wilson in position to grab the early lead and defend it against oncoming assaults throughout the early stages. Finally, Tim Gay was able to secure the combination to slip past Wilson. Wilson did not go quietly, staying glued to Gay’s bumper for the next few laps. Gay was able to put some distance between himself and the field to cruise on to his fifth feature of the year. Thomas Pratt rallied back after falling out of the top five to claim a second place run. Pratt and defending track champion John Bradley held top spots in the preliminaries.

The Studio Red Salon Gladiators provided the shining moment of the night as class regular Logan Casteel recorded his first feature victory of his young career, Casteel, who was 2018 Rookie of the Year, has been close to victory on numerous occasions and faced plenty of adversity in his quest for a win. The win came tonight as he had to hold off former feature winners Kever Raulerson and Patrick Fiore through the night’s action. Casteel was not to be denied and a huge throng of supporters greeted him in Victory Lane, including many fellow competitors. Raulerson and Casteel led the night with heat wins.

East Bay Raceway Park will return to action on Saturday, Sept. 7. Scheduled activity includes a $1,000-to-win 25-lap main for Florida Late Models, Gagel’s Modifieds, V-8 Warriors, Studio Red Gladiators, Mod Lites and the opening round of the two-race Fall Brawl for the Q Auto & Injury Medical Malpractice Attorneys Mini-Sprints.


Feature # 1 – Keith Nosbisch (02), Phillip Cobb (03), Josh Peacock (0), Megan Meyer (11M), Forrest Gough (21), Jesse Brown (7), Jimmy Waldrop (9), Travis Varnadore (95V), Doug Horton (28), Steve Mathis Jr. (95), Tanner Cobb (03T), Daniel Woody (29), John Norris (87), Waylon Haynes (11), Thomas Burnside (13B), Jason Russell (75R)

Feature #2 – Keith Nosbisch (02), Phillip Cobb (03), Travis Varnadore (95V), Steve Mathis Jr. (95), Jimmy Waldrop (9), Megan Meyer (11M), Waylon Haynes (11), Forrest Gough (21), John Norris (87), Jesse Brown (7), Jason Russell (75R), Doug Horton (28), Josh Peacock (0), Thomas Burnside (13B), Tanner Cobb (03T). DNS – Daniel Woody (29)


Feature: George Handy (105), Gary Lucas (23), Jason Burnside (12J), Wayne Kissam (07), Macy Bozeman (58)


Feature: Brandon Yates (53), Eric Knight (7), Stephen Hohlbaugh (23s), Mark Moniz (41E), Vernon Hart (48), Candice Kealy (D4R). DQ – Alan Weeks (5)


Feature: Tim Gay (90), Thomas Pratt (22), Nick Hebrank (24), Mike Wilson (68), Jerry Bruce (35), Henry Burnside (31), Matt Bozeman (58), Randy Shields (30), Mark Roadarmel Jr. (B75), Billy Barstow (56), John Bradley (57), Doug Johnson (09). DNS – Thomas Braswell (67)


Feature: Logan Casteel (7), Kever Raulerson (99R), Kyle Bowman (46k), Daniel Bowman (62), Rodney Wingate (8), Hunter Lovelady (7L), Rick Rutledge Sr. (4), Nicholas McAllister (97M), Patrick Fiore (88), Ricky Rutledge Jr. (124), Derrick Edwards (17), Patrick Tabb (03), Terry Burke (16), Alyssa Grant (36g), Robert Kissam (911), Robert Zutz (47), Davey Martin (55), Chase Seward (20), Rodney Martin (21). DNS – Tracy Maynard (62)