Butler, Cobb Lead East Bay Winners

The second night of the 2020 racing season at East Bay Raceway Park offered a six-division program as a suitable distraction from world news headlines. The racing action was the first night for all six divisions with new faces in Victory Lane.

In the Q Auto & Injury Medical Malpractice Attorneys Sprints, Shane Butler took the lead from Tim George on the fourth lap and rolled away to take the 15-lap main. Butler, who had captured the 2019 Don Rehm Classic Top Gun Sprint win in thrilling fashion, made this a little less dramatic. It marked Butler’s first win in regular season competition at East Bay Raceway Park.  Bryan Eckley, who captured the heat race, came home second.

Tanner Cobb made his first appearance in Victory Lane with a decisive win in the Late Model Sportsman class. Cobb, who finished second to Mark Evans in his heat race, rolled from the pole position to go wire-to-wire. Tim Dowling made it interesting near the mid-point of the race, closing on Cobb until he struck a tire barrier and brought a caution. Cobb picked up the pace on the restart and came home a winner. It marked the second straight week with a Cobb in Victory Lane after Phillip Cobb won the Pro Late Models on March 7.

A strong field of 17 cars were on hand for the opening of V-8 Warrior competition, but the hopes of a new winner were dashed by defending class champion George Handy. The reigning champ inherited the lead when Mark Roadarmel lost the handle while leading on lap three, giving Handy a spot he would not relinquish. Heat winner Gary lucas and Wayne Kissam were the pursuers throughout the contest, but it was Handy who came home victorious, adding the feature to an earlier heat race win.

The Q Auto & Injury Medical Malpractice Attorneys Micro Sprints saw Paul Seburn parked in Victory Lane. Seburn, who had picked up a win during the 2020 Winternationals, utilized steady performance to be the class of the 15-lap main. Doug Dyal won the division’s only heat race.

Eric Knight took advantage of heat race winner Stephen Hohlbaugh’s mechanical misfortune to roll to a win in the Outlaw 4s feature. Hohlbaugh battled an issue with the right front A frame, which allowed the 2019 division runnerup Knight to power to a victory. Hohlbaugh’s runnerup was his best finish since a feature win in May, 2015.

The final feature of the night featured the Gladiators, who filled the pits with 23 cars in their opening appearance. Defending class champion Logan Casteel and Thomas Adams were early leader as Kyle Bowman grabbed the top spot away in the early stages. As a caution was waving for Tyler Davis at the hjalfway mark, Bowman slammed the wall, ending his night and giving the lead to Patrick Tabb. The new leader’s time at the top was short lived and Adams took command, bringing home the win. Bowman and Jeremy Lanier were heat winners with both suffering misfortune to end their features early.

The 2020 racing action continues on Saturday March 21. Pro Late Models, Gagel’s Modifieds, Street Stocks, Gladiators, Q Auto & Injury Medical Malpractice Attorneys Mini Sprints and Florida Old Time Modifieds are on the card. Race time is 6:30 p.m.


Feature: Shane Butler (18), Bryan Eckley (12B), Tim George (1*), Andrew Griffin (27), Nathan Barouch (13), Steven Muller (29), Steve Diamond Jr. (9), Jimmy Miltner (4×4), Billy Bridges (11B)


Feature: Tanner Cobb (03), Mark Evans (28), Jesse Brown (7), Tim Dowling (12D), Thomas Haynes (11), Dennis Williams (24), Buck Woodhouse (55), Forrest Gough (21)


Feature: George Handy (105), Wayne Kissam (107), Gary Lucas (106), Nick Brown (12), Kayla Handy (104), Michael Hart (99), Randy Shields (49), Kalen Maynard (2), Juston Meeks (10), Mark Roadarmel Jr. (81), William Doyle (09W), Cody Gibson (40), Macy Bozeman (58), Bill Whitney (15), Anthony Orlando (52), Bo Anderson (95). DNS – Mark Pickelsimer (6)


Feature: Paul Seburn (23), Doug Dyal (97D), Corey Dyal (00D), Jerod Meyers (7), Trey Ford (17F), William Burnside (13), Joseph Davis (27)


Feature: Eric Knight (7), Stephen Hohlbaugh (23s), Terry Burke (73). DNS – Thomas Braswell Jr. (88). DQ – Robert Schrunk (03)


Feature: Thomas Adams (T2), Logan Casteel (7), Rodney Martin (21), Daniel Bowman (46), Robert Kissam (07), Patrick Tabb (03), Bailey Purcell (14), Ricky Rutledge Jr. (124), David Wood (21w), Derrick Edwards (17), Jeff Smith (15), Amanda Tabb (Mrs. 03), Charles Paris (09), Kyle Bowman (46K), Tyler Davis (1), Tracy Maynard (62), Nicholas Sperbeck (34), David Zeman (13), Bubba Diaz (45), Jeremy Lanier (22), Alyssa Grant (36g). DNS – Davey Martin (55), Bob Zutz (47)